Concordia Students Shine at Annual Awards Ceremony

Thursday 19 Jul

Concordia Lutheran College’s top performing students have been recognised at the College’s annual Awards Ceremony. Students were acknowledged for their achievements in fields including academic performance, vocational education and training, service to the community, The Arts, sport, leadership and citizenship.

Concordia’s 2017 College Captain Rebecca Peake was awarded a swag of awards including College Dux, the USQ Year 12 Award of Excellence, the Year 12 ADF Long Tan award and a Year 12 Citizenship award as well as being a joint winner of the Owen J Janetzki Trophy for vocal achievement. 

For her exceptional achievements, Rebecca was also awarded a USQ Vice Chancellor’s Scholarship valued at $12,000.

Acting Head of College Rev. Mark Blackwell said Rebecca has been an outstanding member of the Concordia community since commencing in Prep in 2005.

“Rebecca was a Junior College Captain in Year 6 and has performed her role as College Captain admirably in 2017,” Rev. Blackwell said.

“In addition to her service to the College community, Rebecca has obtained excellent academic results as well as playing a lead role as Glinda in this year’s College Musical, The Wizard of Oz,” he said.

Year 12 student Tristan Bennett was awarded the prestigious Tim Zell Memorial Trophy for his outstanding contribution to the College in leadership, academic pursuits and extracurricular activities.

Montana Anderson was presented with the Interact Club Service Award which recognises the Year 12 student who has demonstrated outstanding service across a range of activities.

Connor Sharpe was awarded the Helen Abernethy Music Award for being Concordia’s most outstanding musician in 2017. Connor is a highly accomplished woodwind player who has played with the Darling Downs Big Band and attended the State Honours Ensemble Program. 

He was also awarded the Open Woodwind Championship and the Paul Morton Memorial Trophy for most promising woodwind or brass instrumentalist at the Toowoomba Eisteddfod this year and has secured a place at the Queensland Conservatorium of Music in 2018.

The Year 10 USQ Award for Excellence was awarded to Laura Knott for achieving consistently at a very high level.

Braden Jericho was awarded the Year 11 USQ Award of Excellence for having achieved excellence in all subjects through his commitment to work and diligence in his studies.

Other awards presented include:

Student Award
Itiovie Jegede Memorial Award for Dramatic Performance Ewan Brown
Owen J Janetzki Trophy for Vocal Achievement Emma Erdis, Rebecca Peake
The Stiller Trophy for Achievement in Piano Holly Yarrow
The Year 12 English as an Additional Language or Dialect Award Tiffany Tong
Outstanding Vocational Student Award Tom Provest
The Spirit of Boarding Award Peter Mackay, Laura Stiller
The John Stedman Sportsperson of the Year Award Tiarnee Smith
ADF Long Tan Awards Holly Yarrow, Rebecca Peake
Year 7 Award of Honour Amyleigh Murphy
Year 8 Award of Honour Philip Burke
Year 9 Award of Honour Jessica Hollonds
Year 10 Award of Honour Laura Knott
Year 11 Award of Honour Blake Johnson

Click here for the full list of Merit Awards, Academic Awards and Citizenship Awards.