How a Caterpillar becomes a Butterfly

Watch the SciShow Kids video below then answer the questions that follow.


  1. What do all butterflies have in common?
  2. How many stages of life do butterflies have?
    1. One
    2. Two
    3. Three
    4. Four
  3. The stages of life are called:
    1. Metamorphosis
    2. Germination
    3. Generation
    4. Lifetime
  4. What does the pupa stay inside?
    1. Cocoon
    2. Chrysalis
    3. Sack
  5.  What do butterflies eat?
    1. Pollen
    2. Flowers
    3. Nectar
    4. Insects
  6. What do butterflies taste with?
    1. Tongue
    2. Antennae
    3. Feet
    4. Nose
Check your answers Back to Learning Materials

Do you have a nice photo of a butterfly? Send it to us at and we will add it to the butterfly gallery on our Social Space.

Learn more about Science! Visit one of the following links: